Free credits this week →

SHRM Annual Conference 2027: SHRM HR-X Live!

SHRM's flagship annual conference has a new name for 2027: SHRM HR-X Live!, June 27–30, 2027, at McCormick Place, Chicago. Below: dates, prices, PDCs, last year's SHRM26, and cheaper ways to earn the same credits. Facts are from annual.shrm.org, checked 2026-10-21.

Key facts

EventSHRM HR-X Live! 2027 (formerly the SHRM Annual Conference & Expo)
DatesJun 27–30, 2027
VenueMcCormick Place, 2301 S Martin Luther King Drive, Chicago, IL 60616
Credits30 SHRM PDCs
Per SHRM: "earns you 30 Professional Development Credits toward SHRM-CP/SCP recertification." HRCI credit not stated.
FormatIn person. You pick one of four "HR maturity" dimensions (Talent Optimization, Organizational Impact, Functional Acceleration, Market Discernment) and leave with an HR-X credential, plus electives and the SHRM Expo.
Housing deadlineJune 1, 2027 (SHRM housing block)
CancellationFull refund minus a $250 fee for general attendees through February 28, 2027 (see SHRM's policy for later dates).

See rates on annual.shrm.org

SHRM26 recap: the 2026 SHRM conference

SHRM26, the last event under the "Annual Conference & Expo" name, ran June 16–19, 2026 at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida, and virtually (per SHRM's press release). If you searched for "SHRM conference 2026", that event has passed; the next one is HR-X Live! in Chicago.

Is 30 PDCs worth $2,095+?

SHRM-CP and SHRM-SCP holders need 60 PDCs every three years (SHRM recertification guide). HR-X Live! covers half of that in one week. If budget is the issue, the same 30 PDCs can come from a state conference plus free webinars, or entirely from free sources (how to earn all 60 PDCs free).

Other SHRM conferences

DatesConferenceLocationCreditsPrice
Nov 15–18, 2026SHRM All Things Work 2026
SHRM
Nashville, TN
in-person
Not stated
Co-located with SHRM BLUEPRINT for I&D, Linkage Leadership Institute and Skills Accelerator. PDC totals not shown on the listing.
Not listed
Nov 15–18, 2026SHRM BLUEPRINT for I&D 2026
SHRM
Nashville, TN
in-person
Not stated
PDC totals not shown on the listing.
Not listed
Nov 15–18, 2026SHRM Skills Accelerator
SHRM
Nashville, TN
in-person
Not stated
Upskilling seminars and specialty credentials. PDC totals not shown on the listing.
Not listed
Nov 16–18, 2026SHRM Linkage Leadership Institute
SHRM
Nashville, TN
in-person
Not stated
PDC totals not shown on the listing.
Not listed
Mar 31 – Apr 2, 2027LEAP Employment Law Conference (in partnership with SHRM)
SHRM partner · ARIA Resort & Casino
Las Vegas, NV
in-person
Not stated
PDC totals not shown on the listing.
Individual $1,695 (pricing subject to change); group rates for 5+
Apr 11–13, 2027SHRM Talent 2027
SHRM · Gaylord Rockies Resort & Convention Center
Aurora, CO
in-person
Not stated
Recruiting-only SHRM event ("Denver Metro Area"). PDC total not shown on the pages we checked.
Individual $1,895 member rate (1-4 tickets; rises Dec 5, 2026); team $1,705 per person for 5+

Cheaper alternative: SHRM state conferences in 2027

27 SHRM state council and chapter conferences already have 2027 dates. Prices and credits are shown only where the organizer has published them.

DatesConferenceLocationCreditsPrice
Jan 13, 2027SHRM South Carolina Legislative Conference 2027
SHRM state council
Columbia, SC
in-person
Not stated
Credit details not shown on the page we checked.
Not listed
Jan 27–28, 2027KS SHRM Employment Law & Employee Benefits Conference (ELEB) 2027
SHRM state council · Topeka & Shawnee County Library
Topeka, KS
hybrid
Not stated
Credit amounts not shown on the page we checked.
In-person early bird from $425; live broadcast from $125 (see site for member/student rates)
Mar 19, 2027PA SHRM 2027 Legal & Legislative Conference
SHRM state council · Penn Harris Hotel & Conference Center
Camp Hill, PA
in-person
Not stated
Save the date. Credit details for 2027 not posted.
Not listed
Mar 25, 20272027 SHRM Washington State Annual Conference
SHRM state council · Meydenbauer Center
Bellevue, WA
in-person
Not stated
Early bird pricing open; agenda coming soon. Credit amounts not shown.
Not listed
Mar 31 – Apr 2, 20272027 Illinois SHRM State Conference
SHRM state council · Tinley Park Convention Center
Tinley Park, IL
in-person
Not stated
Credit details not yet listed.
Not listed
Apr 6–7, 2027Granite State HR Conference 2027
SHRM state council / chapter
Concord, NH
in-person
Not stated
Listed in SHRM's state conference directory. Credit availability is not shown in the directory; check the event site.
Not listed
Apr 8–9, 202725th Arkansas Employment Law & Legislative Affairs Conference (ELLA 2027)
SHRM state council · Robinson Center & DoubleTree Hotel
Little Rock, AR
in-person
Not stated
Save the date. ELLA 2026 was approved for 10.25 SHRM, 10.25 HRCI Business credits and 10 CLE; 2027 credits not yet posted.
Not listed
Apr 8, 2027Texas Bay Area SHRM Annual HR Conference 2027
SHRM chapter · Great Wolf Lodge
Webster, TX
in-person
Not stated
Credit details not shown on the page we checked.
Member $245; nonmember $295; student member $75
Apr 11–14, 20272027 SHRM Virginia and DC Annual Conference
SHRM state council / chapter
Virginia Beach, VA
in-person
Not stated
Listed in SHRM's state conference directory. Credit availability is not shown in the directory; check the event site.
Not listed
Apr 14–15, 20272027 LASHRM Conference & Exhibition
SHRM state council · Cajundome Convention Center
Lafayette, LA
in-person
Not stated
Credit details not shown on the page we checked.
Not listed
Apr 18–20, 20272027 SHRM California State Conference (CalSHRM)
SHRM state council · Sheraton Grand Sacramento
Sacramento, CA
in-person
Not stated
Credit details not shown on the page we checked.
Not listed
Apr 19–21, 2027Tri-State SHRM Conference 2027
SHRM state councils (CT, MA, RI) · Mohegan Sun Resort & Casino
Uncasville, CT
in-person
Not stated
Credit details not shown on the page we checked.
Dual-member early bird $675 (regular $775, early bird ends Nov 16, 2026); CHRP track $1,125
Apr 21–23, 20272027 South Dakota SHRM State Conference
SHRM state council
Sioux Falls, SD
in-person
Not stated
Announcement says April 21–23, 2027; the site's event widget shows Apr 20–22. Confirm dates.
Not listed
Apr 28–30, 2027Montana SHRM State Conference
SHRM state council / chapter
Fairmont Hot Springs, MT
in-person
Not stated
Listed in SHRM's state conference directory. Credit availability is not shown in the directory; check the event site.
Not listed
May 26–27, 2027Gulf Coast Symposium on HR Issues 2027 (GCS27)
SHRM chapter (HR Houston) · Reliant Center
Houston, TX
in-person
Yes · 17 PDCs
Page: full-conference attendees can earn up to 17 recertification credit hours (12 in person + 5 on demand), including up to 17 SHRM PDCs.
Not listed
Aug 3–6, 2027Missouri SHRM Annual Conference 2027
SHRM state council · Margaritaville Lake Resort
Osage Beach, MO
in-person
Not stated
Save the date. Credit details not shown.
Not listed
Aug 9–11, 20272027 MS SHRM Conference & Expo
SHRM state council / chapter
Biloxi, MS
in-person
Not stated
Listed in SHRM's state conference directory. Credit availability is not shown in the directory; check the event site.
Not listed
Aug 22–25, 20272027 HR Florida Conference & Expo
SHRM state council (SHRM Florida) · Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
Kissimmee, FL
in-person
Not stated
HR Florida's 49th annual conference. Credit details not shown on the page we checked.
Not listed
Aug 30 – Sep 1, 2027SHRM Indiana Conference 2027
SHRM state council · Indiana Convention Center & The Westin
Indianapolis, IN
in-person
Pending
Page: the 2027 conference will be pre-approved for SHRM and HRCI credits.
Not listed
Aug 31 – Sep 2, 20272027 KYSHRM State Conference
SHRM state council / chapter
Lexington, KY
in-person
Not stated
Listed in SHRM's state conference directory. Credit availability is not shown in the directory; check the event site.
Not listed
Sep 14–16, 20272027 ND SHRM State Conference
SHRM state council
Bismarck, ND
in-person
Not stated
Credit details not shown on the page we checked.
Alumni rate $399 (Sep 25 - Dec 31, 2026); later rates TBD
Sep 16–17, 20272027 Wyoming SHRM Conference
SHRM state council
Cody, WY
in-person
Not stated
Credit details not shown on the page we checked.
Not listed
Sep 21–23, 20272027 Ohio HR Conference (OHRC): CTRL + ALT + HUMAN
SHRM state council · Kalahari Resorts Sandusky
Sandusky, OH
hybrid
Not stated
In person plus on-demand access for 60 days; page says on-demand can be used for additional recertification credits (amounts not stated).
From $679 (registration through Dec 31, 2026; rates rise in 2027)
Sep 22–25, 20272027 SHRM Georgia Conference & Expo
SHRM state council / chapter · Hyatt Regency Savannah
Savannah, GA
in-person
Not stated
Council page: September 22-25, 2027 at Hyatt Regency Savannah (SHRM's directory lists Sep 22-24). Credit details not shown.
Not listed
Oct 13–15, 2027Wisconsin SHRM State Conference 2027
SHRM state council · Kalahari Resort & Conference Center
Wisconsin Dells, WI
in-person
Not stated
Credit details not shown on the page we checked.
Not listed
Oct 17, 2027Idaho SHRM Conference 2027
SHRM state council / chapter
Boise, ID
in-person
Not stated
Listed in SHRM's state conference directory. Credit availability is not shown in the directory; check the event site.
Not listed
Oct 18–19, 2027MNSHRM 2027 Annual Conference
SHRM state council / chapter
Duluth, MN
in-person
Not stated
Listed in SHRM's state conference directory. Credit availability is not shown in the directory; check the event site.
Not listed

2027 conferences that state SHRM or HRCI credit

DatesConferenceLocationCreditsPrice
Jan 21, 2027PIHRA California Employment Law Update (CELU) – San Diego / Del Mar
HR association
Del Mar, CA
in-person
Pending
Page: will be submitted for SHRM-CP/SHRM-SCP credit.
Not listed
Feb 1–4, 2027Talent Acquisition Week 2027
Industry conference · Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Resort & Spa
San Diego, CA
in-person
Yes
Page: earn HRCI and SHRM credits (amounts not stated). Workshops Feb 1 and 4, general conference Feb 2-3.
Not listed
Mar 14–17, 2027NELI Employment Law Briefing 2027 (Fort Lauderdale)
Employment law institute
Fort Lauderdale, FL
in-person
Yes
Page: 13.25-16 CLE / PDC / CEU hours, including ethics, depending on jurisdiction.
$1,495 by Feb 19, 2027; $1,595 after
Apr 20–22, 202763rd Annual Indiana HR Conference & Expo (Indiana Chamber)
State chamber of commerce · Indiana Convention Center
Indianapolis, IN
in-person
Yes
Page: approved for HRCI recertification credit and SHRM PDCs (amounts not stated).
Not listed
May 3–6, 2027Maine HR Convention 2027
HR convention (Maine SHRM partner) · Samoset Resort
Rockport, ME
in-person
Yes
Page: earn SHRM and HRCI recertification credits (amounts not stated).
Not listed
May 10–12, 2027California HR Conference 2027 (CAHR27)
HR association (PIHRA) · Hilton Anaheim
Anaheim, CA
in-person
Pending
Page: program will be submitted for SHRM-CP/SCP; HRCI credit section listed.
Not listed
May 26–27, 2027Gulf Coast Symposium on HR Issues 2027 (GCS27)
SHRM chapter (HR Houston) · Reliant Center
Houston, TX
in-person
Yes · 17 PDCs
Page: full-conference attendees can earn up to 17 recertification credit hours (12 in person + 5 on demand), including up to 17 SHRM PDCs.
Not listed
Jun 21–23, 2027NACE27 (National Association of Colleges and Employers)
Professional association · MGM Grand
Las Vegas, NV
in-person
Yes
Page lists CE credits (NBCC, SHRM); NACE is recognized by SHRM to offer PDCs. Amounts not stated.
Not listed
Aug 30 – Sep 1, 2027SHRM Indiana Conference 2027
SHRM state council · Indiana Convention Center & The Westin
Indianapolis, IN
in-person
Pending
Page: the 2027 conference will be pre-approved for SHRM and HRCI credits.
Not listed

Free alternative: webinars with SHRM PDCs

109 upcoming free webinars say they offer SHRM PDCs, with 65 PDCs in stated amounts. See free SHRM PDC webinars

SHRM annual conference: FAQ

When is the SHRM annual conference in 2027?

June 27–30, 2027, at McCormick Place in Chicago. For 2027 SHRM has renamed the event SHRM HR-X Live! and says it "builds on the legacy of our Annual Conference."

How much does SHRM HR-X Live! 2027 cost?

SHRM's rates page lists Advanced Access at $2,095 for members and $2,495 for nonmembers until November 19, 2026 (or sooner if sold out), then Open Access at $2,495 / $2,895 and Final Access at $2,595 / $2,995. Student members pay $695 and chapter advisors $895. Nonmember registration includes a year of SHRM membership. Group rates save 10% or more.

How many PDCs do you earn at the SHRM annual conference?

SHRM says HR-X Live! earns 30 Professional Development Credits toward SHRM-CP or SHRM-SCP recertification. That is half of the 60 PDCs needed per three-year cycle. SHRM doesn't state HRCI credit on the pages we checked.

When and where was the SHRM conference in 2026?

SHRM26, the SHRM Annual Conference & Expo, ran June 16–19, 2026, at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida, and virtually.

What are cheaper alternatives to the SHRM annual conference?

SHRM state council conferences usually cost a few hundred dollars and run 1–3 days (27 are already announced for 2027 below). Free webinars cover the rest: we list 109 upcoming free webinars that offer SHRM PDCs.

Independent and not affiliated with SHRM. PDC Radar is not endorsed by or connected to SHRM. SHRM, SHRM-CP, SHRM-SCP and HR-X Live! are SHRM marks. Prices and dates are copied from SHRM's site on 2026-10-21 and can change; confirm on annual.shrm.org before you register.